Bypoll results: All eyes on Kairana, Palghar as counting of votes begins

Bypoll results: All eyes on Kairana, Palghar as counting of votes begins

Counting of Votes for the May 28 voting of 10 assembly constituencies and 4 Lok Sabha seats, resulting in a green signal for the 2019 general elections for the BJP and its opposition.

The main focus is on Uttar Pradesh’s Kairana Lok Sabha constituency, where the opposition may go for a common candidate against the BJP, presuming for repetitive success in the Phulpur and Gorakhpur by-elections in March.

After the death of BJP parliamentarian Hukum Singh, whose daughter Mriganka Singh is the party’s candidate for the by-poll, went against the Rashtriya Lok Dal’s (RLD) Tabassum Hasan, who is being supported by Congress party, Bahujan Samaj Party and Samajwadi Party.

The BJP has decided to regain power in Kairana, which was also reported in the news 2016 exodus of Hindu families, acknowledging that its defeat in Gorakhpur and Phulpur was an aberration.

Pundits and Political parties are also interested in by-elections results of Bhandara-Gondia and Palghar Lok Sabha seats in Maharashtra. The Shiv Sena plotted late BJP MP Chintaman Wanaga’s son Shriniwas Wanaga in Palghar, much to the dislike of the BJP which has nominated Congress deserter Rajendra Gavit.

The 4 th Lok Sabha by-poll was held in Nagaland after the Nationalist Democratic Progressive Party (NDPP) leader chief minister of Nagaland, Neiphiu Rio resigned as a Lok Sabha member in February.

Noorpur in Uttar Pradesh, Palus Kadegaon in Maharashtra, Tharali in Uttrakhand, Gomia and Silli in Jharkhand, Jokihat in Bihar Chengannur in Kerala, Ampati in Meghalaya, Shahkot in Punjab and Maheshtala in West Bengal are the ten assembly constituencies where by-elections were held.

73 booths in Kairana was held for a re-poll on Wednesday after the BJP and its Opposition parties complained of paper trail machines (Voter Verified Paper Audit Trail machines or VVPATs) choked out. New re-polling orders were given for 49 centers in Bhandara-Gondia and also one polling in Nagaland.

by TNBC Staff Reporter on May 31, 2018

Related Articles